© 2019 BY GEORGETOWN LAW APALSA

Proudly created with Wix.com

Executive Board

2017–2018

Kevin Shin

PRESIDENT (EXTERNAL AFFAIRS)

Hometown: Seoul, South Korea

Undergrad: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Class of 2013

About: Originally from Seoul, my family immigrated to United States when I was 10 years old.  Prior to law school, I worked as an Economic consultant for three years in Chicago.  In my spare time, I enjoy running and playing soccer. You will also see me with a cup of coffee at all times. 

Jay Yi

PRESIDENT (INTERNAL AFFAIRS)

Hometown: Los Angeles, California

Undergrad: Duke University, Class of 2012

About: After college, I lived in NYC doing a variety of things: running an Instagram foodie account (@hungryNYC), volunteering as a police officer, fighting in officiated boxing matches, teaching high school in the Bronx, and paralegaling (not an actual word) at the Manhattan DA’s. I am currently considering a legal career in transactional law, perhaps antitrust or M&A. 

Nathan Regenold

VICE PRESIDENT

Hometown: Phoenix, Arizona

Undergrad: Washington University in St. Louis

About: After graduating from college, I served in Liberia as a Peace Corps Volunteer teaching high school math and science. When I returned, I worked as a legal assistant with the Florence Immigrant and Refugee Rights Project for two years. I like going to concerts, being outdoors, and traveling. 

Heun Geun (H.G.) Song

TREASURER

Hometown: Seoul, South Korea

Undergrad: University of Michigan

About: I served as a training instructor in the Republic of Korea Army for two years, instructing how to perform in combat and self-defense. I like playing golf, racquetball, and tennis. Legal career-wise, I want to practice international tax law.

Katy Ho

SECRETARY

Hometown: Danville, CA

 

Undergrad: UCLA

 

About: After college, I worked as an auditor in an accounting firm in San Francisco during which I ran my first (and perhaps only) half marathon. Entering my 3L year, I remain very involved at Georgetown Law. Besides APALSA, I am the Managing Editor of the Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics, a member of the Barrister's Council ADR division, and a research assistant for a professor. This summer, I worked as a summer associate at a firm in DC and hope to pursue a career in white collar litigation.

Christine Zhao

COMMUNICATIONS CHAIR

Hometown: North Babylon, NY

Undergrad: Boston College

 

About: I hope to pay off my loans

while I'm still young at heart, I am Yelp Elite but not that life elite, and I am very good at binge-watching television. My career goals include being a (relatively) successful, licensed attorney and continuing to work with/for people I respect. Long-term, I see myself staying at a firm but remain interested in seeing what happens.

Leigh Barton

CO-POLITICAL CHAIR

Hometown: Just a small town girl

Undergrad: Wellesley College

About: I was born in Wuhan, China and adopted when I was less than three months old. I have lived in the US ever since and so don't speak any Chinese (although I did try to learn). I am interested in environmental law, both regulatory and litigation, but have not decided on whether I'm interested in private or public sector work.

Junsuk Lee

CO-POLITICAL CHAIR

Hometown: Daegu, South Korea

Undergrad: Amherst College

 

About: I am interested in practicing international trade, sanctions, and dispute resolutions. Prior to attending law school, I served in the ROK Army as an intelligence agent, stationed on the front line in the Demilitarized Zone and frequently deployed in various places as part of the US-ROK Combined Forces Command. I played the violin for more than 16 years and joined the Amherst College Symphony Orchestra throughout college. I also have a black belt in Taekwondo.

Christina Phan

PROFESSIONAL CHAIR

Hometown: Houston, Texas

 

Undergrad: Barnard College/Columbia University

About: I write with my right hand, but I do everything else with my left hand. My parents forced me to switch when I first started to learn how to write because they thought being conforming would be more convenient. I was born and raised in Houston, but I speak Vietnamese fluently because my family could not speak English growing up. I am the first in my family to go to college and law school, so I'm always looking for new ways to increase the pipeline for first generation students. 

Stacy Ham

ACADEMIC CHAIR

Hometown: Oakton, VA

Undergrad: B.A. Cognitive Science, M.T. Elementary Education

 

About: Interested in child advocacy, has a pig collection, and knows more Spanish than Korean.

Dylan Blommaert

CO-SOCIAL CHAIR

Hometown: Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Undergrad: Tilburg University

 

About: I was born in the Netherlands and lived there for 21 years. As a proper Dutchman, I cycle everywhere, leading me to risk my life every day on the streets of D.C. as crazy car drivers insist on cutting me off as often as possible. Also, I may or may not have a thorough knowledge of Korean pop groups.

Melanie Dellplain

CO-SOCIAL CHAIR

Hometown: Seattle, Washington

Undergrad: Wesleyan University, 2014

 

About: I am currently interested in criminal law. I have seen every episode of Friends at least five times, and I would be content living the rest of my life eating nothing but red curry, pastrami, and gummies.  

Julie Choi Shin

COMMUNITY CHAIR

Hometown: Westeros

Undergrad: University of Pennsylvania

About: Loves game of thrones!