APALSA Representatives


Sunna Lee.jpg

Sunny Lee

Section 1

Hometown: Fairfax, Virginia


Undergrad: Johns Hopkins University, Class of 2017

(Major in Political Science, Minor in Jewish Studies)

About: I was born and raised in NOVA, so I feel very much at home in the Washington DC area. At undergrad, I had the opportunity to be a part of the Student Advisory Committee of the East Asian Studies. As a part of the Social Committee, I worked with a team in planning events on campus for those in the EAS department as well as anyone interested in East Asian Studies. This was a large part of my reason for wanting to be involved in APALSA!

David Yun.jpg

David Yun

Section 1

Hometown: Columbia, MD


Undergrad: University of Maryland, College Park, Class of 2017

(Major in Electrical Engineering)

About: I am a soccer and fantasy football enthusiast and love to play board/video games. I also enjoy going to the gym, hanging out with friends, eating, and any outdoor activity. I am an easygoing and laidback person so come talk to me about anything!

Chuyi Sheng.JPG

Chuyi Sheng

Section 2

Hometown: Shanghai, China


Undergrad: Claremont McKenna College,

Class of 2017

(Dual Major in Economics and Government,

Minor in Finance)

About: After graduation, I worked as a financial analyst for an investment bank in Shanghai for two years. My work focused on cross-border M&A and IPOs. After law school, I would like to work in the corporate or capital markets practice of a large law firm. In my free time, I enjoy visiting museums and art galleries. I consider myself a huge sci-fi fan and love anything related to Doctor Who and Neil Gaiman.


Jeff Wu

Section 2

Hometown: Beijing, China / Vancouver, Canada

Undergrad: UC Berkeley, Class of 2019

(B.S. in Environmental Economics and Policy,

minor in French)


About: I lived half my life in China and the other half in Canada and California. During undergrad, I interned at a few tech firms and investment banks, served on the Committee on Student Fees, and was active in Berkeley's pre-law community. When I am not studying, you can probably find me playing basketball on campus, making expresso drinks in my apartment, or exploring DC restaurants on an electric scooter.


Diana Chiang

Section 3

Hometown: Taichung, Taiwan


Undergrad: Georgetown University, Class of 2019

(Major in Government and History)

About: I was born in Los Angeles but lived in Taiwan for most of my life. I am a Double Hoya — I absolutely loved my undergrad experience at the more beautiful Georgetown main campus so I decided to come to law school right after! I am passionate about criminal justice, especially juvenile defense, so I am hoping to pursue a career in that field. When I am not studying, I am either eating steak or sleeping.


Mike Yu

Section 3

Hometown: Hillsborough, NJ


Undergrad/Grad: Boston College

(B.A. in Theology, Class of 2013)

(M.A. in Theology, Master of Social Work,

Class of 2017)


About: Before I came to law school, I was working as a Clinical Social Worker with gang and system-involved young men in Boston. In my free time, I enjoy cooking and baking sourdough bread, buying houseplants, rewatching The Office, hanging out with my dog, and trying new restaurants. I'm interested in the intersection of Law and Mental Health, Labor and Employment Law, Youth Advocacy, Criminal Justice Reform, and Tech Law and Policy.


Liz Choi

Section 4

Hometown: Englewood Cliffs, NJ


Undergrad: Fordham University, Class of 2019

(Major in International Political Economy)


About: I'm originally from New Jersey but moved to New York to attend college. During college, I spent my time waitressing and interning at a hedge fund. In my free time, I love baking, cooking, practicing yoga, and reading.

Isabel Yu.jpg

Isabel Yu

Section 5

Hometown: Singapore


Undergrad: Wellesley College

Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences and East Asian Studies Double Major

About: I'm the dictionary definition of a third culture kid (TCK). My parents are Chinese, I grew up in Singapore, and I hold US and Hong Kong citizenships. In college, I had the opportunity to work for a non-proliferation NGO, a few boutique firms and the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination. Before coming to law school, I spent two years teaching English in South Korea on a Fulbright Grant. I'm not quite sure what career aspirations I have yet, but international arbitration is a direction I'm hoping to explore as I'm aiming to work in Asia in the future. I love to travel and collect transportation cards on the way. I also love anything aesthetic, so nature, cute cafes, rooftop bars and places with night views are where I'll be.  

APALSA Seal 2 White Background.png

Yulong Li

Section 6 (Transfer)

Hometown: China


Undergrad/Grad: New York University, Class of 2016

Columbia University, Class of 2018

(Graduate School of Journalism)


About: Prior to law school, I practiced journalism in New York City and covered beats including business, immigration and technology. Creating compelling narratives has always been my passion and one of the reasons that I choose to practice law. Till this day, I still very much enjoy listening to a good story or telling one. Over my 1L summer, I worked at a litigation boutique in Northern California where I completed my first year of legal studies. Outside of APALSA, I am a Research Assistant at the Deans' Office of the Business School. Outside of law school, I enjoy exploring new cultures/scenes, restaurants/cuisines, and occasionally binge watching Federer play tennis.



Xinming Zheng

Section 6 (Transfer)

Hometown: Fuzhou, China


Undergrad: Wuhan University (Law), UC Berkeley (one-year exchange)

About: I enjoy traveling with friends and eating great food. In addition, I enjoy art and working out.


Riah Kim

Upperclass Representative

Hometown: Olney, MD 

Undergrad: New York University, Class of 2017

(B.A., Economic Policy, Minor in Politics)  

About: I was born in Seoul, South Korea and moved to the United States as a child. I've lived in the D.C. area for most of my life, but I consider myself a New Yorker at heart. Some proof of this: I consume way more coffee than the average human, I love buying overpriced hippie food from Whole Foods, and I have little patience for slow walkers. In my free time, I like to bake, tend to my house plants, and play with my pup Lui. After law school, I plan to move to New York where I will practice general litigation and return to living my best life as a snobby New Yorker.

Hera Liao_edited.jpg

Hera Liao

Upperclass Representative

Hometown: Guangzhou, China 

Undergrad: University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), Class of 2015

About: I was born in China, and lived in Italy before coming to the United States. Prior to law school, I worked in the financial services industry in both Los Angeles and China. My calorie-burning hobbies are tennis and skiing; my calorie-building hobbies are food, boba and wine. I am a Business Law Scholar and a Senior Editor on the Georgetown Journal of Gender and the Law. My current research project focuses on how law and FinTech can work together to help female entrepreneurs and promote gender equality. Upon graduation, I plan to move to New York and continue working at the intersection of business and law.